Intelligent, Aggressive Representation For The Injured And Disabled

Attorneys Gardberg & Kemmerly
Photo of attorneys Jonathan P. Gardberg and Colin Edward Kemmerly

How Social Security Evaluates Cases

by | Oct 30, 2011 | Social Security Disability |

When Social Security is evaluating a disability application, they have to follow five specific steps in determining whether you are disabled. These steps are as follows:

1. Are you performing substantial gainful activity? If you are, they will find that you are not disabled.

2. What is the severity of your impairment and is it going to last at least 12 months?

3. Does your impairment meet a Listing?

4. What is your residual functional capacity? Can you perform your past relevant work? If you can, SSA will find that you are not disabled.

5. If you cannot return to your past work, are there other jobs that exist in substantial numbers in the national economy that you can perform? If yes, then you aren’t disabled.

Each of these steps is pivotal in the evaluation process for determining whether you are medically eligible for Social Security. An experienced Social Security disability attorney will be able to help you prove your case at each of these steps. Please call our firm today if you have any questions about applying for Social Security disability or if you have an existing claim.



RSS Feed